media partner
football magazine


Club competition dates determimed
EFL Bowl: Dramatic End with a points festival


31.07.2006 Dodge Vikings Vienna


Dodge Vikings Vienna defeat Flash de la Courneuve 41:09 (21:09) and enter the EFL History Books with a Three peat!

Eurobowl XX Logo
(c) EFAF
Eurobowl XX Logo

More than 6.000 visitors witnessed a literally “hot” European Football League Final between the defending Eurobowl Champions, the Dodge Vikings Vienna, and the French Champions, Flash de la Courneuve, on Saturday at the Hohe Warte stadium in Vienna.

Flash de la Courneuve started well and RB Patrice Kancel scored a touchdown on their first drive of the match, but they were unable to convert their point-after-touchdown (blocked). After this point the Vikings took charge of the match.

Both teams were highly motivated to win the game, but in the end the Vikings defence held strong and forced a number of turnovers, including a 94 yard interception return Touchdown by Vikings DB #5 Neil Maki. The Vikings offence, under offence co-ordinator and ex-QB of the Vikings Shawn Olson, was on fire - scoring on almost every drive.

Vikings RB #1 Clinton Graham (Player of the Year - Offence AFL 2006) and the QB #18 Luke Atwood turned out to be a winning combination for the Vikings on this day, both scoring a total of 2 touchdowns each!

After the initial French offensive drive the Vikings defence, under the leadership of defensive co-ordinator Chris Calaycay, adjusted well and only allowed one field goal in the second quarter. They managed to completely shut down their French guests’ offensive in the second half of Eurobowl XX

As a result of the strong defence work on the part of the Vikings, the MVP of the Raiffeisen Euro Bowl XX was awarded to a member of this unit: DL #11 Mike Latek

The Vikings also managed to put an entry into the EFL-History books on Saturday. By winning the Euro Bowl for the third time in a row (Three peat!), they join the short elite list of teams who have managed this feat (Bergamo Lions and Hamburg Blue Devils).

The Scorers of the Raiffeisen Euro Bowl XX:
Dodge Vikings Vienna:
# 1 Clinton Graham (2 TDs)
# 18 Luke Atwood (2 TDs)
# 9 Johannes Widner (1 TD)
# 5 Neil Maki (1 TD)
# 2 Peter Kramberger (5 PATs)
Flash de la Courneuve:
# 21 Patrice Kancel (1 TD)
# 14 Eric L'Honorey (1 FG)
# 11 Mike Latek (Dodge Vikings Vienna)

Game stats: http://www.afboe.at/stats/2006/afl/6620.HTM

European Federation of American Football